MANU DIBANGO

MD 2019 Gilles Vidal_2

Manu Dibango is a saxophonist, vibraphonist, pianist, flutist and singer.
Pioneer (and for many, inventor) of World Music, creator of the jazz-soul-groove cocktail “Afro-Soul Thing,” the notorious and world-famous music of Manu Dibango, is challenging to define because he has brilliantly performed all musical styles in his more than 60-year career.
He has contributed so much to the music of the last 50 years that it will take a while before the critics and great musical specialists finally dare to admit that he was one of the most talented creators, originators, and music influencers of his generation.
Up until his last concert on February 2, 2020, with the Soul Makossa Gang, at the age of 86, Manu Dibango continued to inflame venues worldwide while always creating with an artistic integrity that was only equaled by the pleasure he still took in playing.
He also composed the soundtracks of several films and cartoons from the 1970s, including Kirikou and the wild beasts (2005) and the credits for Kimboo, the very first African cartoon (1989).

We use cookies. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies.Accepter

MANU DIBANGO

MD 2019 Gilles Vidal_2

Manu Dibango est saxophoniste, vibraphoniste, pianiste, flutiste et chanteur.
Pionnier (inventeur pour beaucoup) de la World Music, créateur du cocktail jazz-soul-groove « Afro Soul Thing », la musique du célèbre et mondialement connu Manu Dibango est difficile à définir tant il s’est brillemment interessée à tous les styles musicaux en plus de 60 ans de carrière.
Il a tant apporté à la musique des 50 dernières années qu’il faudra du temps avant que les critiques et autres grands spécialistes musicaux n’osent enfin admettre qu’il a été un des créateurs, initiateurs et passeurs de sons parmi les plus talentueux de sa génération.
Jusqu’au dernier concert du 2 février 2020 avec le Soul Makossa Gang, à 86 ans, Manu Dibango continuait d’enflammer les salles du monde entier tout en continuant de créer avec une exigence artistique qui n’égalait que le plaisir qu’il prenait encore à jouer.
Il a également composé les bandes originales de nombreux films à partir des années 70, et de dessins animés dont Kirikou et les bêtes sauvages (2005) ou encore le générique de Kimboo, le tout premier dessin animé africain (1989)

We use cookies. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies.Accepter